Another former Ssangyong Motors’ worker found dead … belatedly known 20th death

Disclaimer: The following is a totally unauthoritative personal translation of an article appeared on the <Voice of People> on Jan. 30, 2011, heralding the 20th death of former Ssangyong Motors worker. So many former workers of Ssangyong Motors are already dead, but still the news of their death is so poignant. All rights regarding this post stay with the author of the original article or with <Voice of People> and this post will be scrapped at their request. Although I paid much attention to match translated names of people / institutions / positions as authentic as possible, some of the translations will, unfortunately, be different from their authentic English translations. Original article of this post (in Korean) can be found in the link at the bottom.

Ssangyong Motors who had promised to hire him later dismissed him instead

Reporter Cho Han-il 조한일 기자 jhi@vop.co.kr

On last 20th just before the lunar new year’s day, one of the two biggest holidays in Korea, Mr. Kang (52), a voluntary retiree of Ssangyong Motors, was found dead in his own home in Pyeongtaek, Gyeonggi-do. His acquaintances, not being able to reach him for several days, began looking for him and found his dead cold body.

According to the Korea Metal Workers’ Union (KMWU), Mr. Kang’s family suffered hardships after the voluntary retirement and Mr. Kang divorced with his wife. Mr. Kang worked numerous daily labor jobs since the divorce and turned out dead just before the holidays. Police in charge is known to consider heart attack from alcohol addiction as the cause of his death.

A KMWU official said “There are so many Ssangyong Motors voluntary retirees and he has lived alone, which obviously delayed the identification of his death. It is known that the funeral was already held ten days later in the morning of 30th. We are checking the details now.”

An official of KMWU Ssangyong Motors branch said “The late Mr. Kang worked in the press part. It is known that, after his voluntary retirement, there was no one who could handle the equipment, and Ssangyong Motors hired him as a daily contractor, promising to offer him a regular job later.”

Then, the official continued “But, it is known that, after they retrieved Mr. Kang’s know-hows and basic job skills, they dismissed him. His case is the most malicious one Ssangyong Motors have exploited so far. It is an archetypal social murder.”

Useful link

8 comments

  1. this is my comments ! thx for all !

  2. I am going to definitely be returning for your site to learn more articles as i loved any particular one..

  3. I rarely comment, but i did some searching and wound up here Another former Ssangyong Motors’ worker found dead … belatedly known 20th death | koreanstory. And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it look like a few of these remarks appear like written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post. Could you list of every one of all your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  4. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  5. I leave a response when I appreciate a article on a site or if I have something to contribute to the discussion. Usually it’s triggered by the sincerness communicated in the post I looked at. And after this article Another former Ssangyong Motors’ worker found dead … belatedly known 20th death | koreanstory. I was moved enough to post a thought 🙂 I do have some questions for you if it’s okay. Is it simply me or do a few of these remarks come across like written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online sites, I would like to follow you. Could you list every one of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  6. I simply want to mention I’m newbie to blogging and really loved your web site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You certainly have incredible articles. Cheers for revealing your webpage.

  7. Thank you an amazing publish, will examine your personal others topics. thank you your thoughts for this, I experienced a lttle bit made an impact to by this article. Thanks again! You earn a terrific point. Portrays natures best by the fantastic report here. I feel if more individuals consideration for it like this, they’d have a better time period receive the hold ofing the difficulty.

  8. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

Leave a Reply

